The Accept-Charset request HTTP header advertises which character encodings the client understands. Using content negotiation, the server selects one of the encodings, uses it, and informs the client of its choice within the Content-Type response header, usually in a charset= parameter. Browsers usually don't send this header, as the default value for each resource is usually correct and transmitting it would allow fingerprinting.

If the server cannot serve any character encoding from this request header, it can theoretically send back a 406 Not Acceptable error code. But for a better user experience, this is rarely done and the Accept-Charset header is ignored.

In early versions of HTTP/1.1, a default character encoding was defined: ISO-8859-1. This is no longer recommended, and now each content-type may have its own default.

UTF-8 is now well-supported and the overwhelmingly preferred character encoding. To guarantee better privacy through less configuration-based entropy, all browsers omit the Accept-Charset header: Internet Explorer 8+, Safari 5+, Opera 11+, Firefox 10+ and Chrome 27+ no longer send it.


Accept-Charset: <charset>

// Multiple types, weighted with the quality value syntax:
Accept-Charset: utf-8, iso-8859-1;q=0.5


A character encoding name, like utf-8 or iso-8859-15.
Any charset not mentioned elsewhere in the header; * is used as a wildcard.
Any encoding is placed in an order of preference, expressed using a relative quality value called the weight.


Accept-Charset: iso-8859-1

Accept-Charset: utf-8, iso-8859-1;q=0.5

Accept-Charset: utf-8, iso-8859-1;q=0.5, *;q=0.1


Specification Title
RFC 7231, section 5.3.3: Accept-Charset Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP/1.1): Semantics and Context

Browser compatibilityUpdate compatibility data on GitHub

Chrome Edge Firefox Internet Explorer Opera Safari
Accept-Charset ? — 27 No ? — 10 ? — 8 ? — 11 ? — 5
Android webview Chrome for Android Firefox for Android Opera for Android Safari on iOS Samsung Internet
Accept-Charset ? — ? ? — 27 ? — 10 ? — 11 ? — 4.2 ? — 1.5

See also

© 2005–2020 Mozilla and individual contributors.
Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License v2.5 or later.