Fixed width floating-point types (since C++23)

If the implementation supports any of the following ISO 60559 types as an extended floating point type, then:

  • the corresponding macro is predefined,
  • the corresponding floating-point literal suffix is available, and
  • the corresponding type alias name is provided:
Type name
Defined in header
Literal suffix Predefined macro C language type Type properties
bits of storage bits of precision bits of exponent max exponent
std::float16_t f16 or F16 __STDCPP_FLOAT16_T__ _Float16 16 11 5 15
std::float32_t f32 or F32 __STDCPP_FLOAT32_T__ _Float32 32 24 8 127
std::float64_t f64 or F64 __STDCPP_FLOAT64_T__ _Float64 64 53 11 1023
std::float128_t f128 or F128 __STDCPP_FLOAT128_T__ _Float128 128 113 15 16383
std::bfloat16_t bf16 or BF16 __STDCPP_BFLOAT16_T__ (N/A) 16 8 8 127


The type std::bfloat16_t is known as Brain Floating Point.

Unlike the fixed width integer types, which may be aliases to standard integer types, the fixed width floating-point types must be aliases to extended floating point types (not float / double / long double).


#include <stdfloat>
int main()
    std::float64_t f = 0.1f64;


  • C++23 standard (ISO/IEC 14882:2023):
    • 6.8.3 Optional extended floating-point types [basic.extended.fp]

See also

© cppreference.com
Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike Unported License v3.0.